CPA - American Institute - logo
CPC - Certification Brochure
CPC - Certification Handbook
CPC- request more info
CFA - Chartered Financial Analyst - Banner
  • The CFA designation will help you take your career to the next level

    Being a CFA sends a clear message that you have a superior knowledge of investment management and finance. With CFA charter holders in 134 countries around the world, this qualification are in high demand by companies working in investment management and related sectors. Attaining the CFA designation places you among your profession’s elite.
    A Chartered Financial Analyst excels at:

      • Making sound investment decisions by gathering information on a particular industry or stock they are assigned to by a senior financial analyst
      • Assembling spreadsheets of financial data that can be accurately transformed into a report
      • Researching and tracking financial performance


    These areas of expertise come together to empower CFAs to become effective analysts, portfolio managers, senior managers, strategists and advisors.


    CFA’s Importance

    The CFA is the most respected and valued credential in the global finance community and is your passport to career success in the investment management and corporate finance professions.

    A recent CFA Institute survey revealed that:

      • CFAs are paid significantly more than non-certified professionals
      • In the US, CFAs make on average between $158,000 and $456,000


    Today CFAs can look forward to:

      • Admiration from employers (67% of companies encourage or require the CFA charter)
      • Recognition
      • Great pay and benefits
      • Career opportunities, stability and more promotions
      • A bright future
      • Membership in a professional network


    Since the CFA is a highly respected professional designation, it sets you above the competition in the fields of investment management and finance


    Benefits of the CFA Program

    Becoming a CFA means you have to pass a three-level exam. The CFA program sharpens skills and useful competencies that are essential to your career’s success:

    • Superior investment management and finance knowledge base (theoretical and practical)
    • Critical skills you use in business
    • High ethical standards
    • Personal skills
    • Communication skills
    • Significant know-how

  • Financial Analyst Real World Relevance

    Take a closer look at the content the CFA covers. With such rich material and pertinent topics, the CFA really symbolizes the pinnacle of investment management.
    Level I

      • Ethical and Professional Standards, 15 %
      • Investment Tools, 50 %:
      • Quantitative Analysis/Methods, 12 %
      • Economics, 10 %
      • Financial Reporting and Analysis, 20 %
      • Corporate Finance, 8 %
      • Asset Valuation, 30 %:
      • Equity Investments, 10 %
      • Fixed Income, 12 %
      • Derivatives, 5 %
      • Alternative Investments, 3 %
      • Portfolio Management and Wealth Planning, 5 %


    Level II

      • EthEthical and Professional Standards, 10 %
      • Quantitative Analysis/Methods, 5-10 %
      • Economics, 5-10 %
      • Financial Reporting and Analysis, 15-25%
      • Corporate Finance, 5-15 %
      • Equity Investments, 20-30 %
      • Fixed Income, 5-15 %
      • Derivatives, 5-15 %
      • Alternative Investments, 3-15 %
      • Portfolio Management and Wealth Management, 5-15 %


    Level III

    • Ethical and Professional Standards, 10 %
    • Equity Investments, 5-15 %
    • Fixed Income, 10-20 %
    • Derivatives, 5-15 %
    • Alternative Investments, 5-15 %
    • Portfolio Management and Wealth Planning, 45-45 %

  • CFA Certification Basic Requirements

      • To become a full-fledged®, you have to qualify to take the exams and pass all of them. In addition to passing exam levels I, II and III, you must:
      • Have at least 4 years of acceptable professional work experience related to the investment decision making process
      • Apply and be accepted for CFA Institute membership
      • Agree to comply with the CFA® Institute’s conditions, requirements and procedures as defined in the CFA® Institute Articles of Incorporation, Bylaws, Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct
      • Submit an annual Professional Conduct Statement and pay annual membership dues to ensure you remain a charter holder


    CFA Exam Basic Requirements

      • Not just anyone can become a CFA®. Why? Because the CFA is a very specific professional designation and it is a testament to your hard work, dedication and expertise. And so to qualify to take the CFA exam you need to:
      • Hold a Bachelor’s degree or equivalent from an accredited college
      • University OR be a college/university senior (i.e. in your final year)
      • Or have at least 4 years of professional work experience (without a degree)
      • And/or have a combination of 4 years of college/university and professional experience (not necessarily investment related. N.B.: summer, part-time and internships do not qualify)


    About the CFA Exam

      • To best prepare for the CFA Exam, it’s important to know what to expect:
      • The exam is administered by the CFA Institute which offers a graduate level curriculum and examination program designed to expand your working knowledge and practical skills related to investment decision making
      • Each of the CFA program’s three levels builds on the preceding one
      • Each level is tested via a full-day (six-hour) examination divided into two 3 hour sessions (morning and afternoon)
      • Candidates must pass each examination before advancing to the next higher level but are permitted to repeat an examination if they fail to pass
      • Level I can be taken in June and December
      • Level II and Level III can only be taken in June


    CMA Exam Content and Structure:

    Ethical and Professional Standards

    • Level I: 15%
    • Level II: 10%
    • Level III: 10%


    • Level I: 10%
    • Level II: 5-10 %
    • Level III: 0

    Corporate Finance

    • Level I: 8%
    • Level II: 5-15 %
    • Level III: 0

    Fixed Income Investments

    • Level I: 12%
    • Level II: 5-15 %
    • Level III: 10-20 %

    Alternative Investments

    • Level I: 3%
    • Level II: 5-15 %
    • Level III: 5-15 %
    Quantitative Analysis

    • Level I: 12%
    • Level II: 5-10 %
    • Level III: 0

    Financial Statement Analysis

    • Level I: 20%
    • Level II: 15-25 %
    • Level III: 0

    Equity Investments

    • Level I: 10%
    • Level II: 20-30 %
    • Level III: 5-15 %


    • Level I: 5%
    • Level II: 5-15 %
    • Level III: 5-15 %

    Portfolio Management

    • Level I: 5%
    • Level II: 5-15 %
    • Level III: 45-55 %


    CFA Exam Schedule and Locations

    The exams are offered by the CFA Institute at hundreds of locations throughout the world. Level I is offered twice a year in June and December, and Levels II and III once a year in June.

    Application Steps

    • Once you’ve met all the pre-requisites, you can start your application to write the CFA® exams.
    • The application process is easy, just:
    • Register for your Level I test once you have paid your initial enrollment fee to the CFA® Institute.
    • In addition to the initial fee, the CFA® Institute may require you to pay a registration fee for each exam.
    • Once you have passing results for Level I, you can register for Level II (not before).
    • Once you have passing results for Level II, you can register for Level III (not before).
    • Early registration can save you money since the CFA® Institute imposes a graduated fee schedule that increases with time.

© Copyright 2014 | CPC | All Rights Reserved.Website Designed by CPC and Developed by IMP Coders